Skip to main content

Jim Infantino

The Wakeful Wanderer’s Guide to Disillusionment

Book 2 of the Wakeful Wanderer's Guide series


  1. Garden State
  2. Breakfast Plans
  3. The Stray
  4. The Land of Pi
  5. Level One
  6. Generosity and Revenge
  7. Scorched
  8. Murray Hill
  9. The Ice House
  10. Cold
  11. Acquiescence
  12. Shades
  13. Interconnection
  14. Apparition
  15. Gratitude
  16. Refugees
  17. Extremes
  18. The Fever
  19. Homecoming
  20. Forgotten
  21. Fête
  22. Bound Away
  23. Emergence
  24. ReFactory
  25. Instantiation
  26. The Order of Things
  27. Inside Out
  28. Kneadful
  29. Scion
  30. Gyaros
  31. Drugged
  32. Pursuit
  33. Capitol
  34. The Dome
  35. Doppelgänger
  36. Akbar
  37. Impermanence
  38. Decay
  39. Glossary of Characters
  40. Acknowledgements
  41. About the Author

The Second book in the Wakeful Wanderer’s Guide series picks up a few months before the end of book one. It follows the travails of Barnabas: the conquering tyrant, Nora: his abandoned spy, Reyeena: the possessed and grieving mother, and Helen: the runaway aristocrat, and of course, Marto, among others. Turmoil is brewing for the Interconnected and the Traditionalists alike as a third power emerges.

Society is divided along socio-economic and technological-philosophical lines. The Traditionalists eschew invasive technologies in favor of tangible materials. They value the structures of hierarchical systems based on wealth and birth. They long for the return of the grand markets that boomed before a world shaking disaster called The Great Tide wiped them out. Across from this culture are the Interconnected, who have incorporated the world of data, information, and social networks into their bodies. They live in constant communication with each other, mind to mind, and employ a gifting economy based on Merit to maintain their post-scarcity automated economy.

Marto, the traveling Interconnected historian, has exiled himself to protect the ones he loves from his dark secret. In his absence, Helen, a runaway Traditionalist aristocrat, struggles to find her place among the Interconnected, unwilling to return to her cruel family. Reyleena, the former head of security in the Interconnected down of Reverside, has returned to a life of quiet solitude, broken occasionally by the impositions of The Other, an omnipresent AI, who cannot leave her alone. Barnabas, the Traditionalist leader of New Atlantic, fights to get back to his town and regain control in the wake of a chaotic attack. Nora, his sister, is trapped in Reverside and must come to terms with her new life in captivity.

This middle book of the Wakeful Wanderer’s Guide series delves deeper into the origins of the Interconnected and Traditionalist worlds, and broadens the perspective on both. The Memoria emerges as a force that might dissolve the divisions between these cultures. Old friends hold the key to forward progress or a backslide into disaster. The struggle to control the future of humanity in this near-future America is a battle of cultures, stories, and ideals.

Edited by Dan Layman-Kennedy